Question art. Expect no answer.

By

“The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing.” Albert Einstein

When it comes to my photography, I’ve found the most important question for me to answer is why. If I know why I am shooting something, I’ll know when to shoot it, *when the light is right”, I’ll know where to shoot it. I’ll know what to shoot, and even how. Sometimes the “why” presents itself in a flash and is the “mountaineer’s answer about why he climbs”, because it is there. But often the why is a complex amalgam of opportunity, instinct, a sense of composition and something like hearing an echo in your minds eye. But knowing why you want a shot will teach you volumes about how to get it and how to get it right, at least in your minds eye. If you are ever wandering aimlessly with a quality camera in your hands wondering why you haven’t shot anything all day, ask yourself “why?” It will come to you.Image