Black and white in glorious colour.

By

“Soon it got dusk, a grapy dusk, a purple dusk over tangerine groves and long melon fields; the sun the color of pressed grapes, slashed with burgandy red, the fields the color of love and Spanish mysteries.” ― Jack Kerouac, On the Road 
Image
Seriously, who knew that shooting a couple of hundred rolls of Tri-X could help a fella out in painting class. I’ve come to painting way too late. As a photographer, I thought I knew something about colour. Not so much. I even thought I knew something about composition, *(well a bit, but again not so much when it comes to colour.) This stuff goes back hundreds of years and they had it all down pat. Except. I have a couple of questions about the art work on the caves at Lascaux and Chauvet, who were their teachers?

Image