Can you see a soul? How do you meter the light it emits?

By

 

“The greatest thing a human soul ever does in this world is to see something and tell what it saw in a plain way. Hundreds of people can talk for one who can think, but thousands can think for one who can see. To see clearly is poetry, prophecy and religion, all in one.”  – John Ruskin (1819 – 1900)

Portraits of people are the toughest assignment for me. I will happily record nature in minus 40 degree celcius weather, freezing my fingers to capture a momentary light on the snow, but the light in someone’s eyes is too fragile for my clumsy touch and I shy away again and again from attempting the ensnarement of the soul. Sometimes though, I believe it can be done obliquely capturing a refraction rather than a reflection, a shadow, perhaps a mere suggestion of what makes one uniquely who they are. My hat is off to portrait photographers everywhere. Well done I say.

“Develop interest in life as you see it; in people, things, literature, music – the world is so rich, simply throbbing with rich treasures, beautiful souls and interesting people. Forget yourself. ” –                                                                                  Henry Miller (1891 – 1980)