By
  “My great mistake, the fault for which I can’t forgive myself, is that one day I ceased my obstinate pursuit of my own individuality.” – Oscar Wilde  1854-1900

Image

It is difficult to believe that Wilde, the great iconoclast faulted himself for giving up on his individuality, but I do see individuality evaporating everywhere around me.  So many people need to connect with what is “trending”, who only read what has hit the bestsellers list, listen to the top 40.  To walk alone in a bright red dress seems to me to be an act of bravery these days.  And my hat is off to those who walk their own path their own way.  We might not be able to see it, but every mother penguin can see the beauty and individuality in their daughters and  recognize their handsome sons. Image  

 

 

“Nature paints the best part of a picture, carves the best part of the statue, builds the best part of the house, and speaks the best part of the oration.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson 1803 -1802