Messing up

By

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.” – Scott Adams

Image

There are photographers who sketch, who use the camera very much like an artist will use a pencil to dash off a quick gesture drawing, always looking and capturing the moment.  Others work more like the old masters, ignoring no detail of light exposure or composition, re-composing, adjusting light and taking dozens of exposures in search of perfection.  Neither is right, neither is wrong, but along the way both need to mess up, to get it colossaly wrong in order to learn.  If I am not challenging myself, messing up, and getting some absolute crap out of my camera along with the odd win, the occasional good shot, I am not learning.  Here’s to all the mistakes I make, they’re helping me to get it right.

Image

“Art is not a cleverness contest.  It is an honesty contest to hone the capacity to truly be that which you are.”  – Ran Ortner