Breathe in (inspire) vigourously

By

Image

Overheard in a coffee shop, three teens talking:   “Hey, wanna come skiing tomorrow, there’s a rad new jump I heard with some awsome air?”  “Nah, we’re just gonna stay home and get high.”  I’m taking bets on who’s going to get some altitude in this life and who’s gonna be flapping their wings wondering why they’re not getting any traction.

“You can’t wait for inspiration.” You have to go after it with a club.
Jack London (1876 – 1916)
Things haven’t changed much since Jack London wrote this a century ago.  It applies to so many things but I find it apt when people ask me about inspiration vis a vis my photography, I usually won’t recognize it until I see it and I won’t see it unless I am actively looking, usually with a camera in my hand.  I never complain about a lack of inspiration, that usually means I am not spending enough time in nature and that is my own fault.  Just like this black and white duck in its black and white pond, you can easily miss out on a beautiful sunset unless you’re willing to put in the effort to gain enough altitude to potentially change your attitude.
Image
“They who lack talent expect things to happen without effort. They ascribe failure to a lack of inspiration or ability, or to misfortune, rather than to insufficient application. At the core of every true talent there is an awareness of the difficulties inherent in any achievement, and the confidence that by persistence and patience something worthwhile will be realized. Thus talent is a species of vigor.”
Eric Hoffer (1902 – 1983)